Current members

Lesley Davies, OBE, FCFE

Lesley Davies, OBE, FCFE

Lesley is Chair of the Corporation of the Hull College Group. Her previous positions include CEO and Principal for The Trafford College Group, Senior Vice President and SRO for Pearson, and Deputy CEO of AoC. In 2016 she became Chair of the newly formed UK Skills Partnership Board.  She is a member of the DIT’s Ministerial Education Sector Advisory Group, a Trustee for the education charity CVQO and an Ofqual board member.

In 2015 Lesley was awarded an OBE for services to education.

Professor Colin Grant

Prof. Colin Grant – Chair

In April 2018 Professor Colin Grant took up the post of Vice-Principal (International) at Queen Mary University London. He formerly held the same role at the University of Southampton. He is Chair of the Russell Group International Forum, and a member of both the Universities UK International Strategic Advisory Board, and of the DAAD Global Strategic Partnerships Review Committee.  

Hugh Greenway

Hugh Greenway

Hugh Greenway is the CEO of the Elliot Foundation, which he has grown from concept to one of the more successful primary academy trusts in the country. Prior to this he ran education businesses internationally including turnaround and start-up projects in the UK, France, Sweden, Russia and the Netherlands; forging partnerships with Google, chartered sector bodies and respected international universities. He is also a council member of the Foundation for Education Development.

Robin Grimes

Prof. Robin Grimes

Robin Grimes is Steele Chair of Energy Materials at Imperial College London. He was Chief Scientific Adviser to the FCO from 2013–2018, during which time he worked extensively with the British Council. In April 2017 he became Chief Scientific Adviser (nuclear) to the MoD. In his research, he uses computer simulation techniques to predict the behaviour of materials for energy applications. Professor Grimes is a Fellow of the Royal Society and the Royal Academy of Engineering.

Adam Habib looking at the camera

Prof. Adam Habib

Adam Habib is an academic, activist, and public intellectual. He is Director of SOAS University of London and was previously Vice Chancellor and Principal of the University of the Witwatersrand (Wits) in South Africa. He holds qualifications in Political Science from the University of Natal, Wits and City University of New York. Professor Habib is a co-founder of the African Research Universities Alliance, an affiliation of research-intensive universities on the continent.

Nona McDuff smiling at the camera

Prof. Nona McDuff

Nona McDuff is the Pro Vice-Chancellor, Students and Teaching at Solent University, Southampton. Professor McDuff was awarded an OBE for her services to Higher Education. She has fostered debate on race, racism and the academy, shining a light on the BAME awarding gap and the need for a whole-institution approach to improving social mobility. Professor McDuff has served on the national Teaching Excellence Framework and her research interests cover inclusive curricula and differential attainment.

Tony Medhurst

Tony Medhurst

Tony Medhurst is Principal and Chief Executive of Hertford Regional College since August 2015, having previously held the same position at Harrow College for seven years. He is Chair of the Association of Colleges’ Curriculum Reform Policy Group. He has led successful international partnerships in many countries including South Africa, Tunisia and Vietnam, and was a recipient of the London Development Agency’s Education Partnership Award for his work in China prior to the London 2012 Olympics. 

Professor Graham Miller

Prof. Graham Miller

Graham holds a chair in sustainability in business at the University of Surrey, where he is also Executive Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences and a member of the Executive Board of the University. 

Graham is currently co-editor of the Journal of Sustainable Tourism, lead judge for the World Travel and Tourism Council’s Tourism for Tomorrow awards and Chair of Considerate Hoteliers. He also holds the title of Distinguished University Professor at Wakayama University, Japan.

John Mountford

John Mountford

John is an international skills sector expert with extensive experience of leading global technical and vocational education and training (TVET) programmes. He supports UK stakeholders and international partners in developing sustainable projects contributing to global skills initiatives. John previously worked as International Development Director for the Sector Skills Council for Advanced Manufacturing and Engineering (SEMTA), and as the Association of Colleges’ International Director. 

Rajani Naidoo smiling at the camera

Prof. Rajani Naidoo

Rajani Naidoo is Professor in Higher Education Management and Director of the International Centre for Higher Education Management. Professor Naidoo holds a UNESCO Chair in Higher Education Management, sits on the research and development committee of the European Foundation for Management Development and is Visiting Professor at Nelson Mandela University, South Africa. Her scholarship and research grants have focussed on higher education, social justice and the public good.