The Board of Trustees are the guardians of the British Council’s purpose and are ultimately accountable for the organisation.

They hold the Senior Leadership Team responsible for the organisation’s performance, strategy and policy. The trustees meet six times a year. Edited minutes of their meetings are available to the public.

There are five formal sub-committees to the Board. Click on any to read the respective terms of reference:

Protocols (PDF 129kb) are in place to support the effective and consistent operation of the sub-committees. The Independent Members of the Sub-Committies are Lindsay Croisdale-Appleby who sits on the Remuneration & People Committee, Rajiv Garodia who sits on the Commercial Committee, and Nazim Girnary who sits on the Audit & Risk Committee.

We also publish annually the Register of Interests (PDF 129kb) of the Board of Trustees.