The purpose of the assessment research awards is to assist doctoral level research students (Ph.D/Ed.D.) in their data collection and/or analysis activities or in presenting their work at an international conference.

The application should be completed by the research student and his/her academic supervisor and should include details of how the award will contribute to the completion of the student’s work, or details of the paper accepted for presentation at the conference. There will a number of awards available on an annual basis, to a maximum value of £2,500 per award.

Proposals must be presented on the form provided. Applicants should submit their completed project proposal form by email attachment to the British Council at You will receive a confirmation email when the proposal has reached the British Council. This should happen within three days of sending the proposal.


The Assessment Research Award recipient will submit two documents:

  1. Progress report: This is due six months after the start date (to be negotiated with award recipient) and will briefly outline progress on the project to date.
  2. Summary of achievements: a two to three page summary outlining the recipient’s achievements should be submitted on completion of the research, together with a summary paragraph from the principal supervisor detailing how the award has helped the recipient make progress towards the completion of his/her Ph.D/Ed.D dissertation.

Previous award recipients


  • Glyn Jones (Lancaster University, UK, supervisor Dr Luke Harding)
  • Roman O. Lesnov (Northern Arizona University, USA, supervisor Professor Joan M Jamieson)
  • Olena Rossi (Lancaster University, UK, supervisor Dr Tineke Brunfaut)
  • Sonca Vo  (Iowa State University, USA, supervisor Professor Gary Ockey)
  • Jorge Luis Beltran Zuniga (Teachers College, Columbia University, USA, supervisor Professor James E Purpura


  • Alun Evan Meredydd Roger (CRELLA, University of Bedfordshire, supervisor Dr. Fumiyo Nakatsuhara)
  • Carolyn Westbrook (CRELLA, University of Bedfordshire, supervisor Professor Anthony Green)
  • Qie Han (Teachers’ College, Columbia University, supervisor Professor James E. Purpura)
  • Salomé Villa Larenas (Lancaster University, supervisor Dr. Tineke Brunfaut)


  • Maria Georgina Fernandez Sesma (University of Southampton,UK,supervisor Dr Ying Zheng)
  • Iftikhar Haider (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign,USA, supervisors Professor Emeritus Fred Davidson & Professor Melissa Bowles)
  • Benjamin Kremmel (University of Nottingham, UK, supervisor Professor Norbert Schmitt)
  • Suh Keong Kwon (University of Bristol, UK, supervisor Dr Guoxing Yu)
  • Heidi Han-Ting Liu (Teachers College, Columbia University, USA, supervisor Professor James E. Purpura)
  • Yueting Xu (The University of Hong Kong, SARPRC, supervisor Professor David R. Carless)


  • Tanzeela Anbreen (University of Bedfordshire, UK, supervisor Professor Stephen Bax).
  • Tony Clark (University of Bristol, UK, supervisors Dr Guoxing Yu and Dr Talia Asaacs).
  • Lin Fang (University of Bristol, UK, supervisor Dr Guoxing Yu).
  • Edit Ficzere (University of Bedfordshire, UK, supervisor Dr Fumiyo Nakatsuhara).
  • Elsa Gonzalez (University of Southampton, UK, supervisor Dr Ying Zheng).
  • Mikako Nishikawa, (University of Bristol, UK, supervisor Dr Guoxing Yu).
  • Saerhim Oh (Teachers College, Columbia University, USA, supervisor Professor Jim Purpura).
  • Victor Santos (Iowa State University, USA, supervisor Professor Carol A. Chapelle).
  • Linxiao Wang (Northern Arizona University, USA, supervisor Dr Okim Kang).



October 2018 Call for proposals
4 February 2019 Applications close
February 2019 Preliminary review of applications
February – March 2019 Evaluation and selection
March 2019 Notification of decisions to applicants

If additional information about the assessment research awards is required, contact the British Council prior to application at