Female teacher with three students

Mat Wright

Authority to grant or withdraw accreditation is vested in the Joint Chairs of the Accreditation Scheme Board who are guided by the Executive Board and the Accreditation Scheme Advisory Committee.

Executive Board

The Board meets quarterly and comprises the following members:


  • British Council: Mike Welch (Chair), Roy Cross, Oliver Phillips
  • English UK:  Jodie Gray (Chair), Andrew Hjort, Mark Rendell


  • Jacqueline Gresham, Chair of the Accreditation Scheme Advisory Committee
  • Liz McLaren, Manager, Accreditation UK (Secretary)
  • An additional member of the Accreditation Unit attends all Board meetings.

All members of the Board act in the general interests of the Scheme, Scheme members and their students. The Board can invite others to attend Board meetings on a non-voting basis.

Accreditation Scheme Advisory Committee

The Accreditation Scheme Advisory Committee (ASAC) meets at least six times annually. It has a maximum of 14 voting members appointed by the Board, and includes individuals from accredited ELT centres from both state and private sectors, as well as experts in the fields of ELT, student welfare, and educational evaluation.

Meeting dates:
5 March 2020
7 May 2020
2 July 2020 
27 August 2020
8 October 2020
3 December 2020

Annual report

The Accreditation UK Annual report for 2016-17 is available below. 


ASAC responsibilities

  • consider inspectors’ reports and make recommendations to the Executive Board to accredit or not accredit new applicants, and to continue accreditation, place accreditation under review or withdraw the accreditation of existing members
  • make recommendations concerning the timing of inspections
  • consider cases of doubtful eligibility for the Scheme
  • order, where appropriate, full inspections or spot checks – these may also be ordered by the Accreditation UK Manager
  • consider cases of factual inaccuracy in inspection reports.

ASAC members


  • Jacqueline Gresham

Private sector ELT management

  • Anna Goodband, Liverpool School of English
  • David Juhasz, Bucksmore Education 
  • Lee Shutler, Hilderstone College
  • Grace Durighello, CELT

FE/HE ELT management 

  • Helen McAllister, University of the Arts
  • Janette Donjon, Sunderland College
  • Carmel Roche, Edge Hill University
  • Sarah Gore, Edinburgh College

Welfare/student/consumer relations in ELT organisations

  • Kevin O'Donnell, formerly Berlitz London
  • Eleanor Maly, International House London
  • Rosie Fairfax, British Accreditation Council

 The meeting is also attended by the following people (non voting)

  • Huan Japes, English UK
  • Liz McLaren, Manager, Accreditation UK
  • Hilary Managh, Assistant Manager, Accreditation UK (Secretary)
  • One of the senior inspectors (George Pickering or Rhona Hodgart)
  • Andrea Maxwell, Accreditation UK (minutes)