The Board of Trustees are the guardians of the British Council’s purpose and are ultimately accountable for the organisation.

Currently chaired by Christopher Rodrigues, they hold the Executive Board responsible for the organisation’s performance, strategy and policy. The trustees meet six times a year, and edited minutes of their meetings are available to the public.

There are seven formal sub-committees to the Board. Click on any to read the respective terms of reference:

Protocols (PDF 170kb) are in place to support the effective and consistent operation of the sub-committees. We also publish the register of interests (PDF 31kb) of the Board of Trustees.