A woman smiling and holding a piece of paper

Aptis ESOL is regulated by the Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual) – the UK government body that regulates qualifications, examinations and assessments in England. Aptis ESOL is also recognised by public bodies and institutions in a number of countries where official certification of English language proficiency is required.

Aptis ESOL provides proof of candidates’ ability to communicate in English at all levels from A1 to C2 on the Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR).   


Name Purpose
Associazione Italiana Centri Linguisitici Universitari (AICLU)

University graduation

Certification of level for university credits and international study

University admission (EMI courses)

The following universities:


Name Purpose
Universidade Do Algarve  Certification of level




Conferencia de Rectores de las Universidades Españolas (CRUE)

University graduation

Certification of level for university credits and international study (where stated)

The following universities and tertiary education institutions: 

• Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea  

• Universitat Abat Oliba CEU  

• Universidad de Alcalá 

• Universidad de Alicante  

• Universidad de Almería 

• Universitat Autónoma de Barcelona

• Universidad de Burgos  

• Universidad Autónoma de Madrid

• Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha

• Universidad Complutense de Madrid  

• Universidad de Cantabria

• Universidad de Cádiz  

• Universidad Carlos III de Madrid  

• Universidad Córdoba 

• Universidad de Deusto  

• Universidad Europea de Madrid  

• Universidad de Extremadura Universitat de Girona  

• Universidad de Granada  

• Universidad de Huelva  

• Universidad Internacional de Andalucía   

• Universidad de Jaén  

• Universitat Jaume I

• Universidad de La Rioja

• Universidad de León  

• Universitat de Lleida  

• Universidad de Málaga 

• Universidad de Oviedo

• Universidad Pablo de Olavide

• Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya 

• Universidad Politécnica de Madrid     

• Universitat Pompeu Fabra

• Universidad Pontificia de Salamanca  

• Universidad Publica de Navarra

• Universitat Ramon Llull  

• Universidad de Salamanca  

• Universidade de Santiago de Compostela  

• Universidad de Sevilla  

• Universidad de Valencia  

• Universitat de Vic-UCC    

By relevant ministries and departments of 16 autonomous regions, including Andalucia, Catalunya and Madrid.

Full list of public entities can be accessed here 

University graduation

Public employment recruitment

Teacher recruitment

United Kingdom

Name Purpose
Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual)

General employment recruitment 

Study opportunities


Name Purpose
Ministry of Education & Training (MOET)

University graduation

University admission

Secondary school graduation