The Newton Prize is an annual £1 million fund awarded for the best research or innovation that promotes the economic development and social welfare of Newton Fund partner countries. Eligible prize countries for the Newton Prize 2019 are China, Indonesia and the Philippines. 

Newton Prize 2019

The 2019 Newton Prize call for applications is now open. This year, as well as a prize for each country – between £50,000 and £200,000 will be awarded to each winning project – there will also be a Chair’s Prize, an award of between £200,000 and £500,000 for the project that best demonstrates knowledge and partnership working.

Click here to access the application portal.

Newton Prize 2018

Newton Prize winner in Colombia

A Researcher Links travel grant project on turning environmentally damaging coffee waste into electricity has been awareded the Newton Prize in Colombia. The project is a collaboration between Lina María Agudelo-Escobar, Associate Professor, University of Antioquia and Dr Claudio Avignone-Rossa, University of Surrey. Find out more on the Newton Prize website.  

Newton Prize winner in Brazil

A Newton Institutional Skills project, delivered by the British Council, won the Newton Prize in Brazil. The project focuses on improving the lives of the Guarani people by saving the Atlantic Forest. It is a collaboration between Marc Brightman, Co-Director at the Centre for the Anthropology of Sustainability, University College London and Daniel Calazans Pierri, General Coordination Member for the Indigenous Work Centre in Brazil. Find out more on the Newton Prize website.  

In 2017, projects delivered by the British Council won four out of six prizes in the prize countries Malaysia, Thailand and Vietnam.