Prof. Dr. Mukhtar Ahmed

Prof. Dr. Mukhtar Ahmed is a PhD and Masters in Business Administration from University of California, Riverside.Since 2014, he has been chairingthe Higher Education Commission (HEC) Pakistan, with a mission to increase equitable access to higher education and promote research relevant to indigenous needs. He has also served as Executive Director and Member (Operations & Planning) of HEC. He initiated the first SAARC education and research network in his first tenure as Chairman HEC.

Maddalaine Ansell

Previously worked, for 15 years as a Civil Servant with stints in the Treasury, Number 10, the Home Office and the then Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.  She began her career as a corporate lawyer, working for both Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer and Sullivan & Cromwell. She leads the Global Education Strategy and Portfolio working collaboratively with colleagues in British Council offices across the world and with HMG, the Devolved Administrations and the HE Sector. 

Dr Cloud Bai-Yun

Dr Bai-Yun has transformed UKNARIC to an internationally recognised leading information service provider. Her career history includes designing and developing the National Reference Point for Vocational Qualifications; the National Europass Centre; the National Contact Point on Professional Qualifications, and the European Credit system for Vocational Education and Training Centre for England. Her doctoral research was in Slavonic Studies and Linguistics, at the University of Leeds.

Professor Hugh Brady

Professor Hugh Brady is the President of Imperial College London. He served as Vice-Chancellor and President of the University of Bristol and President at his alma mater University College Dublin. He is an international authority on the pathogenesis of renal inflammation and diabetic kidney disease. Professor Brady received an honorary doctorate, fellowship and awards from institutions, i.e. Queen’s University Belfast, the Royal College of Anaesthetists in Ireland and University of Melbourne.   

Dr Roger Chao

Dr. Roger Chao Jr. is currently Asst. Director/Head of Education, Youth and Sports at the ASEAN Secretariat. Since 2013, he has been engaged in the international education development sector in various organisations including UNESCO, UNICEF and DAAD. Dr Chao has published on regionalisation and internationalisation of higher education, teacher education, refugee education and more. He has a PhD on Asian and International Studies from the City University of Hong Kong. 

James Crabtree

James plays a leading role in organising the annual IISS Shangri-La Dialogue and the IISS Fullerton Forum: The Shangri-La Sherpa Meeting, as well as the IISS Fullerton Lecture series. He also leads the growing IISS research team in Singapore focused on the Asia-Pacific and contributes to IISS publications. 

Dr. Saima Hamid

Dr. Saima Hamid is the Vice-Chancellor, Fatima Jinnah Women University, Rawalpindi. Her achievements include developing a transformation plan to overcome the financial, administrative, and academic hardships faced by the university under her dynamic leadership during the pandemic. pioneering new comprehensive learning systems to enable online and distance study at FJWU, establishing Centre for Learning Excellence (CLE), and bringing the Global Implementation Society (GIS) chapter to Pakistan.

Alison Johns

Alison was appointed chief executive of Advance HE in 2017. Prior to that she was the chief executive of the Leadership Foundation and has worked in higher education for 25 years.  She was also head of policy for leadership, governance and management at the Hefce (now the Office for Students). She is a past president of the Association of University Administrators (AUA). She reviewed teaching and learning for the Australian government, and established the Office for Learning and Teaching.  

Professor Lily Kong

Prof Kong is the first Singaporean to lead SMU and the first Singaporean woman to head a Singapore university.

An award-winning researcher known for her work on urban transformations, and social and cultural change in Asia, she was identified by Stanford University in 2020 as among the world’s top 1% of scientists in Geography. 

She was inducted into the Singapore Women’s Hall of Fame (2022), included in the Forbes Inaugural 50 over 50 (Asia 2022), and in Forbes Asia’s Power Businesswomen (2020).

Dr. Romyen Kosaikanont

Dr Kosaikanont leads a British Council supported project - Strengthening Leadership with Gender Equity, Diversity and Inclusivity in Higher Education Intuitions in the Greater Mekong Subregion and Timor-Leste.

She was previously VP for International Affairs of Mae Fah Luang University, Thailand and served the DAAD International Dean Course, the Japan ASEAN Integration Fund for the Capacity Building Project for the Greater Mekong Subregion, and CIDA Sustainable Environmental Management Project.