Mobility grants to support new collaborations between UK and South-East Asian researchers and policy-makers

Key dates 

Applications: Friday 31 October 2014

Decision notification: By mid-November 2014

Travel to be completed and reports to be submitted: By Friday 6 March 2015


The Collaborative Development Awards (CDAs) are mobility grants to support the initial stages of new collaborations between UK and South-East Asian researchers and policy-makers.

The aim of the Awards is to catalyse research collaborations through new joint project development and access to research funds.

Awards are available to support the following activities: 

  • South-East Asia-based researchers or policy-makers visiting the UK, or UK-based researchers or policy-makers visiting South-East Asia to explore and define areas for future research collaborations.
  • Short secondments to a potential partner’s research laboratory in South-East Asia or the UK to evaluate the viability of joint projects or to develop new project proposals.

The Awards are to support travel and subsistence from South-East Asia to the UK or vice-versa.

Requests for funding can be made to spend time in either region, visiting one or more laboratories to identify opportunities for collaboration or to discuss specific projects with universities or companies. Visits should be a minimum of 10 days with a clear visit plan agreed between the researcher and the host/s organisation. CDAs do not fund actual research activity. 

Award criteria

The value of each award is £2,000 and will be awarded to one person per application.

Costs that can be claimed as part of the award include: 

  • Economy class flights
  • Local travel
  • Visa fees
  • Accommodation
  • Meals
  • Telephone costs

No other costs can be included. 


Applicants can be researchers or policy-makers in universities, polytechnics or research institutes in the UK or one of five South-East Asian countries:

  • Brunei
  • Burma
  • Cambodia
  • Laos
  • Singapore

Malaysia, Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam will have separate calls for proposals through the British Council’s Researcher Links Programme.

How to apply

Proposals must be completed on the Collaborative Development Awards 2014-2015 application form, available below. Only one application can be submitted per applicant. 

Only researchers and policymakers that have not received a CDA in the past may apply. Extensions to previous year’s CDAs will not be possible.

All applications must be in made in English and the application form must be fully completed.

Applicants are advised to check visa eligibility and visa application timeframes as soon as possible and before their application is submitted.

All applications are to be submitted by email to CDA2014@britishcouncil.org.sg by 17:00 GMT on Friday 31 October 2014.

Payment of Awards

A grant of £2,000 will be paid to successful applicants after the visit has taken place and a final report has been received and approved. Therefore each applicant needs to be aware that no payment in advance will be available.


If you have any queries, please contact the South-East Asia science and innovation team at CDA2014@britishcouncil.org.sg.